Thread: Hello! And please recommend me an espresso machine...

Hello! And please recommend me an espresso machine...

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi! Didnt really see a noobie lounge so I thought Id integrate my big hello and question into 1 post (!).

Im Dave, from Adelaide, and have recently started appreciating coffee.

I have been toying with the idea of getting an espresso machine (I have no experience), and my wife has kindly granted me the budget of up to $350.

I found the Breville 800es (+ free bar aroma grinder) going for $379 this weekend, and with my company discount I can take 5% of that bringig it down to about $350 mark. However my search has returned mixed reviews, leading me to ask: Is there anything better I can get for around the $350 mark?

My goals are quite simple at the moment - to learn how to make a good cup of coffee for myself, I expect to be making one every morning at least. I will be willing to dedicate the time for trial & error & experimenting.

In the long term, I dont know whether I will reach some point where I will want to splash out on a more expensive machine, so this machine is probably the one for me where I buy once, buy right; I live by a poor man pays twice principle and dont want to regret the purchase.

That said, what do you guys think of the deal ($350 for 800es + grinder), and do you have any other deals you can recommend for my budget?

Thanks in advance!

Re: Hello! And please recommend me an espresso machine...

Hi and welcome.

If you watch ebay, you can quite often pick up brand new Sunbeam EM6910 + EM0480 for that price, maybe $50 more for sure.

That would be the best set to start off with.* I had the EM6910 up until a month ago and seriously I was getting some fantastic coffee out of it.

If you dont mind second hand you can watch the for sale section on here as well and you might be able to pick up something even cheaper.

Thanks Shapeshifter.