Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Aldi Expressi Capsule Machine + Frother Review

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    48

    Aldi Expressi Capsule Machine + Frother Review

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Alright here is as detailed a review as I can make right now.


    Expressi Coffee Unit:
    I purchased the black one.
    The unit overall is quite light and is well made. Everything works like it should.
    Its stylish and compact. Dont expect a tank as its made of plastic but for $79 absolutely good stuff.
    It produces good quality coffee from the pods and dispenses them easily.
    No hassles or problems here.



    Expressi Frother:
    Cheap and so far no issues. Just take note of the levels and adjust the frothing to your tastes by either removing earlier or adding a bit more milk or giving it a good shake once done.
    It really froths well.


    Both machines so far are well recommended.





    Now before I actually used them, I did rinse them several times and used its normal functions using water. In the case of the coffee maker I ran 2 containers ie 2 Liters of water through it first. In the case of the frother I turned it on using water 2-3 times.
    This was done to try and wash off/wear off the "new smell" taste which ofcourse will wear down over time.

    Also the shots were poured using the factory standard default settings which for the small cup symbol should be ~40ml and for the large cup symbol ~100ml. (this is adjustable but i have used default)


    I bought 5 of the 9 flavours and plan to try all of them.

    Amalfi
    Reggio
    Milano
    Florenzi
    Tauro



    Below are some shots






    http://www.mediafire.com/i/?uduphv6x67zd9h8

    Florenzi shot poured using default setting via small cup symbol.





    http://www.mediafire.com/?ean22v50nin5ak7,bz75ja4ah6hmgbz,gmlzrjfmf8tzcz7

    Reggio, Reggio pour, Reggio overhead shot 5mins later.




    http://www.mediafire.com/i/?vml7ye5dmlwn4kt
    Amalfi with tons of foam on top - stuffed up a lungo but wasnt gonna try again.



    http://www.mediafire.com/i/?i7ybvhim7zr37w2
    Expressi Frother unit



    http://www.mediafire.com/i/?yy8rrsrmxitybgf
    Spent capsule holder.



    http://www.mediafire.com/i/?v7jeah68fxnwt71
    Spent Amalfi capsule



    and finally for those interested in a capsules contents

    http://www.mediafire.com/i/?dhnf2fouiyjfchu
    Dissected Spent Amalfi Capsule




    Overall both units at these prices are well worth it.
    The coffee produced IMO is on par with nespresso though this does depend on personal taste and which flavour range you happen to try and what your comparing it to on the nespresso range.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    42

    Re: Aldi Expressi Capsule Machine + Frother Review

    Aldi have done it again!!

    Though I"ve read that the milk frother is a cheaper unit than the last one they sold. Last model used a magnetic stirrer, so stirrer could easily be removed and all parts washed thoroughly, but this model has a stirrer bolt come up through the bottom, so potential for difficulty cleaning, and seals failing with milk getting into bits it shouldnT.

    What do you think about that?

  3. #3
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Aldi Expressi Capsule Machine + Frother Review

    Quote Originally Posted by 687D7B667960676C090 link=1322275190/1#1 date=1322276620
    What do you think about that?
    I am just jumping out of my skin with excitement! :D

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    48

    Re: Aldi Expressi Capsule Machine + Frother Review

    Quote Originally Posted by 786D6B766970777C190 link=1322275190/1#1 date=1322276620
    Aldi have done it again!!

    Though I"ve read that the milk frother is a cheaper unit than the last one they sold. Last model used a magnetic stirrer, so stirrer could easily be removed and all parts washed thoroughly, but this model has a stirrer bolt come up through the bottom, so potential for difficulty cleaning, and seals failing with milk getting into bits it shouldnT.

    What do you think about that?
    I dont see this as being an issue. Its very similar to the aeroccino. It is sealed and doesnt leak and comes with 2 attachments 1 just a stirrer which allows your milk to warm up whilst the 2nd attachment is a frother and stirrer.

    Also remember its Aldi :) Take it back a year later and youll still get it swapped :)

    For $20 cant be beat no questions about it!

  5. #5
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    17,020
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Aldi Expressi Capsule Machine + Frother Review

    Hi Sampam,
    sorry I didnt see your review before I posted mine last night:
    http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1322406344

    I was going to get a milk frother to see what they were like but they were sold out.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    48

    Re: Aldi Expressi Capsule Machine + Frother Review

    Its alright Andy absolutely no worries.

    Your post is quite detailed and obviously youve gone through a lot of effort. Mine was more of an initial impression and to give feedback out ASAP.


    Andy since you have the gear and stuff in place mind trying something out?
    Can you try flushing the system out twice ie pressing the button at the bottom into the same cup and then actually try a pour?

    That might give a higher temperature readout...



    Also I believe you have to look at the unit for what it offers; competition/alternative to nespresso.

    IMO its taste(depending on blend range), crema, pour and temps are on par with Nespresso.

    That being said if what one wants is the best coffee then forget this. For that youd want your best freshest beans, freshly roasted, adjusted grind and pour etc

    Likewise if your after an overall cheaper coffee or trying to save the environment then forget it too.

    But if you want a much cheaper alternative to nespresso that is on par with it (and inherently seeking the convenience that comes with these systems) then you cant go wrong with this unit. And given that its Aldi you can always take it back.

    It already has 9 blends/flavour ranges and Aldi have confirmed that they will also add in Decaf and Chocolate soon with possibility of others.

  7. #7
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    17,020
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Aldi Expressi Capsule Machine + Frother Review

    Quote Originally Posted by 40525E43525E330 link=1322275190/5#5 date=1322548303
    Can you try flushing the system out twice ie pressing the button at the bottom into the same cup and then actually try a pour?

    That might give a higher temperature readout...
    That is what I did before each of the temperature readings in my review. That was the maximum temperature it reaches with the machine hot.... the shots from a just turned-on machine were even lower.

    Ive just added pictures of the machine open...
    http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1322406344

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    9

    Re: Aldi Expressi Capsule Machine + Frother Review

    The aldi pods also fit the MAP coffee system (OW $6.50 for 6, works out to $00.65c each) but they are made a LOT cheaper with no internal plastic filter system which makes them a lot cheaper at ($5.99 for 16 or about 37c each)

    Taste isnt anything to brag about but i was given only 1 pod to try, i prefer real beans in the jura ENA5 but its a lot more than the aldi expressi system!!

    The milk frother didnt give me very frothy milk and i tried it with low fat as well as regular milk so if you could post how you got a decent froth i would be interested. Its got a little but the milk isnt dense i would describe it more a flat white myself.

    PS ive posted more info in the other forum link too FYI



Similar Threads

  1. Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)
    By Andy in forum Brewing Equipment - Entry level (sub $500)
    Replies: 130
    Last Post: 20th April 2018, 01:33 PM
  2. Aldi Expressi
    By Jbounce in forum Brewing Equipment - Entry level (sub $500)
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 18th August 2012, 05:46 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •