Thread: Beginners Questions-EM5900

Nix

Beginners Questions-EM5900

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    hi guys
    I recently got myself a sunbeam EM5900 and I have noticed a few things that I need help with.

1.) the coffee is too runny and not honey-like. I know you are suppose to get around 30ml in 30 odd seconds but i get almost double that in 30 seconds. what can i do to solve this problem? Ive been reading that changing the filter from dual walled to single might help true? should i buy a BSWF100 from breville?
    Im a poor uni student so I have yet to buy a grinder so Ive been getting my beans pre-ground in small quantities from seven seeds(its right across the road from where i live)
    which brings me to my next question
    2.) what grinder would you recommend me to get?(something that is not ridiculously expensive)
    3.) Is it true that you can mod the settings for the EM5900 to get better steam output and coffee??
    Thanks in advance ^_^

Re: Beginners Questions-EM5900

hi Nix

this was my second machine on my coffeesnobs journey and it is definitely capable of producing some very good espresso :)

1) in terms of fast, runny pour there are many reasons this could be happening - grind being too coarse, stale coffee etc. do yourself a favour though and get a single wall filter set because that is not helping at all!

2) a good grinder is very very important. get the best one you can for your budget! in terms of lowest price and decent quality em450/480 is a good starting place. breville smart grinder is next step up

3) turn up the steam pump rate and temperature to max. instantly gave me better results with my milk!

have fun :)

Hi Nix, welcome to the group of poor uni student snobbers!

You say youre getting 60ml in 30 seconds? Is this with the double or single basket?