Thread: Gaggia Baby D - Too fast espresso pour

Angry Gaggia Baby D - Too fast espresso pour

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi, i'm new to the world of espresso pouring, but I have been enjoying coffee for a long time.
    I recently plugged in my Gaggia Baby D and looked up some guides/manuals on the internet. While all this information is pretty straightforward, I still have a big problem with pouring a good espresso.
    The main problem is that the shot pours too fast. I've been trying all kinds of advice, but I believe the problem is with the tamping or the amount of ground coffee in portafilter.

Some additional information is that the result with the excessive pouring leads to a thin and close to no crema espresso, which probably is pretty obvious.

This is my first post here, I hope it's the right sub-forum.
    Any tips?

Tips? How about, "what grinder are you using?"

if you're not using a good grinder, You're going to end up with a crappy pour, Even if you get the beans ground by your local roaster a day after they're "freshly roasted".

If you are using a good grinder, I'd suggest grinding finer.

if your grinder is at it's finest setting, and you're still not getting a good 25-30 second pour, then I'd suggest that your grinder is not good enough.

If you don't have a "roasted on date" listed on your beans, or if that date is older then a month, you will still have difficulties getting a crema, and an inconsistant pour.

Hope this helps

Thank you for your answer!

1. I'm using a Gaggia MDF, from what i've been reading it's a good entry-level grinder for making espressos.

2. Beans are as fresh as you can get them...

I've been wondering on what the correct amount of ground coffee is for a dose, but I should be using the right amount. I guess i'll try to grind the beans finer, hope it helps!

What does the used puck look/feel like ?
    Firm ? Sloppy? Wet?
    What pour times/volumes are you getting now anyway ?