Thread: Newbie searching for starter clues

Newbie searching for starter clues

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi All I have developed a costly habit for the local brew in Port Macquarie, Holly Goat and have decided to sustain my consumption at this level I need to start brewing my own.
    To this end I have been trolling though old post and gathering information .
    So I have invested in a Gaggia Classic and a Kyocera hand mill ( I am the only drinker at home and I like ceremony ).
    Im still waiting on the mill (ebay) but in the mean time have been making a reasonable coffee for a beginner from preground HG.
    I have much to learn.
    I am wondering when i get my grinder how to determine the correct fineness for a grind? I hear about the time it takes for a shot is this the key? What sort of times do I want? Are there any other keys to ground fineness?
    AlsoI read much about the OPV valve adjustment and as I am a mechanic I feel comfortable tinkering and wonder if this is something I should be thinking about? As i gather it the valve is preset to compensate for pods which I wont be using so should I ?
    The rancho steamer mod seems like a good idea ? It looks much simpler and easier to keep clean.
    What else do i need to know as a starter ?
    Greatful for any clues and tips.

Mitchell

Newbie searching for starter clues