Thread: Help with choosing a machine. Research is just making it more confusing.

Help with choosing a machine. Research is just making it more confusing.

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi everyone,

I have no experience with making espresso at home and have been wanting to purchase a machine + grinder. Currently, I have a (shudder) blade grinder that I use with my french press and am not really happy with it. However, after my research, I believe this unhappiness is because of my grinder. However, I still would like to start making espresso at home. Originally, I was thinking about purchasing a nespress machine, but during my research for it, I decided I would prefer a true espresso machine with grinder for quality and I would say price, but it would take many shots before I would even start to see an equivalency in comparison (and that is assuming I dont upgrade either unit-grinder or brewer- before hitting this threshold where the savings begins)

Back to topic. I am looking for a grinder + espresso machine for less than $500 if possible (refurb units are welcomed). I understand that they will not be the best, but I figure that after a few years of use, I will become better, see the inefficiences and understand my reasoning for upgrading to a better unit, if needed. I have learned from my research that it is best to have a good grinder in play and I was wanting to put most of my budget toward the grinder and purchase a cheaper espresso machine that will still pull adequate shots until I am more experienced. I will give you a few options I was thinking about below and then have a few more questions. If needed, I dont mind waiting a bit to extend my budget by a few hundred if it will be for a product that is noticeably better (construction, shot flavor, etc...)

Options: