Thread: Questions on Breville ES 800

Unhappy Questions on Breville ES 800

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi, Im new to this page, hope I could get some help for the few problems i've been encountering.

I recently got a second hand breville ES800 which had previously been used only around 10 times (hopefully that reliable!), but i've been getting coffees which are a little sour, even after I had gotten my 5senses beans grinded at the shop to suit the espresso shot. and the shot usually flows really fast, within 8seconds, and even after I had tamped it very hard, there doesnt seem to be any change.

Also, could i get some advice regarding purchasing a blind filter to clean this machine? because it didnt come with one.
    Thanks!

The breville 800 doesn't have a three way valve, so can't be backflushed. No need for a blind filter.
    The sourness could be due to not heating the machine up enough, although I found on my 800 that once I was grinding my own beans, it improved. I'm sure many others will say this too, but try and get a grinder so you can grind fresh at home. Also, the breville comes with dual wall baskets, so try and find single wall ones. The breville, sunbeam and krups 51mm all fit my machine.
    Hope this helps.

Hi that is very helpful! Just a few more questions, so how would I go about cleaning it? Ok, yupp the dual wall basket would mean there's only holes in the centre?

The dual wall basket will have lots of holes on the inside, and only one on the bottom. Replace with single wall baskets asap.

For cleaning I flushed and wiped the steam wand after every use, and ran water through the group and wiped with a damp cloth after every coffeemaking session. I did a descale once, just folloe the instruction manual.