Thread: Sunbeam Espresso Vita EM6200

Sunbeam Espresso Vita EM6200

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi Guys,

i've just purchased this machine along with a breville smart grinder for $530 from Myer. I have to say i am enjoying the coffee from this combination so much that i have stopped purchasing coffee from the local cafe's at work! i'm a little concerned though, as it only takes about 15 seconds for a double shot to pour - although the "pressure gauge" is showing that i'm on the high side, but still in the orange zone. as far as i can tell, this equates to approximately 10 bar of pressure. i have the coffee ground to the second finest setting, dosed 3 to the left and i'm confident it is tamped correctly.

I'm using Lavazza beans from coles (my beanbay order arrived today), freshly ground - but the taste is still slightly weak for a double shot. is this normal?

sorry if my post is a bit all over the place, i'm new to all of this so it's tough to articulate!

Grant

I had the previous incarnation of that machine.

It's a decent machine and the Smart Grinder is good as well, so you will be able to make good coffee on it (better than most cafes) as long as you stick to some rules and get 1 accessory for your new machine. Maybe 2.

New Accessory:
    1. A single-wall, unpressurized basket - eg Single Wall Filter Set | Breville. The basket that comes with your machine does not let you extract the coffee properly.
    2. If after you get this, you can't make a 60ml double in 30 seconds, get the grinder shim kit from Breville. Just call them and say you have a Smart Grinder than needs to grind finer. Install and then adjust your grind until you can a 60ml double in 30 seconds. This again only works with the single-wall basket.

Rules: