Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By tailz78

Thread: Saeco Via Venezia question

Saeco Via Venezia question

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all. I'm playing around with an old machine that was gathering dust at my parents house. It's a Saeco Via Venezia with the black buttons, the newer ones have the white buttons.

Anyway I'm using a crappy grinder (Delonghi KG59) which doesn't grind fine enough for espresso but it's what my folks had so I'm just playing around with it, experimenting.

I bought some beans from the supermarket (bad I know but I've never used an espresso machine before so I didn't want to waste money and practise using expensive fresh beans) and made a few coffees which turned out pretty ordinary as expected. I used a light tamper.

I read about depressurizing the portafilter so I tried that and the shot pulled way too weak and almost looked transparent after about 12-15s. It ended up looking like watered down coke with no crema at all and the ground beans in the portafilter were soaking wet. This was with a normal tamp. I thought something wasn't right so I put the portafilter back together and tried again and it was back to normal.

I assume the shot out of the depressurized portafilter was so weak/crappy because without the extra parts it really exposed my use of old stale beans that were grounded too coarsely. Does this sound accurate? I was just a bit shocked as I thought freshly roasted beans and a good grinder might take you from a 5/10 coffee to a 8/10 coffee but the shot that came out of the depressurized portafilter would have ended up as a 1/10 I'm guessing, from the looks of the shot. Can it make _that_ much difference? I'm going to try with some fresh beans on the weekend but it will be a while before I can afford a decent grinder so I can't test this out for myself yet.

Cheers