Thread: Help with Faema Family

Help with Faema Family

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hello all,

I am brand new to coffee snobs and the world of home espresso in general. After living in NSW for nearly a year, then subsequently in NZ for 8 months I brought my love for a good shot back to Canada.

I just purchased a Faema Family for, what I feel, was a steal at $50. It was that or the Starbucks Barista at $150. Something about the Faema sang to me.

After bringing it home I did some research and found this site. Extremely informative and, from what I gather, I feel I've picked up a pretty decent home brew unit.

My concern is that I may be missing an electronic piece on the top of the boiler. After looking at the pictures Sparky had posted and taking my machine apart, it appears that I may missing the High Temperature Cut Out Thermostat. I have pictures of my machine and was hoping for some confirmation. I am new and cannot post attachments. As well, after taking the machine apart, I see now loose connectors that would indicate the Thermostat had been removed. I'm a little confused and worried that this could cause major issues down the road.

As well, the tip of the steam wand seems to be absolutely plugged, any advice on how to get this back to operational condition?

Also, any general advice, warnings, tips, mods, that I should be considering with the machine would be great.

As far as I know its the older version with the brass boiler.

Thanks to anyone who can be of assistance. I really appreciate it and look forward to being a part of the community.

Cheers

maybe that helps you
    http://coffeesnobs.com.au/general-co...-pictures.html
    picture are saying more thern 1000 words.

Thanks Rolf,