Thread: Gaggia Classic - Normal To Have Constant Steam On Brew Mode?

Gaggia Classic - Normal To Have Constant Steam On Brew Mode?

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all,

Purchased my first coffee machine off ebay for $100 - 2000 model Gaggia Classic. Tried her out a bit and espresso was a bit bitter (I'm a total beginner though).
    I opened her up and stripped everything down to the boiler - very limited scaling and cosmetically the machine is in overall good condition.

The only issue I am having is not knowing if the brew temperatures are too high. The reason i suspect they are is
    1) The brew indicator light does not appear to be working. Sometimes it flickers on for a little bit, but once the machine is warmed up tends to stay off (but its inconsistent) - could this be a broken thermostat? I think I can hear a thermostat switching on and off though when on brew mode?
    2) I have constant steam (VID 20141118 210246 2791 - YouTube) even when the steam switch is off and its on brew mode - is this normal? Water, not steam, is coming out of the group head. Once the steam dies down in the video, u can hear the thermostat switch on and then the steam starts increasing again.
    3) Bitter espresso - but I'm a beginner so its more likely bad technique.

I don't have a thermometer handy so can't test water temperature at the moment.

Could anyone clarify if #2 is normal?

Cheers,
    Ryan

Hello Ryan, and welcome to the forum.

Nice buy with that Classic. It's a deluxe model and appears to be in very good condition. If you ever want to sell it ...........

In answer to your questions ( in reverse ) :

3. If your water temp is too high - and maybe it is - that can increase the bitterness of the extracted espresso.