Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Lordrunec

Thread: New Machine Choice

New Machine Choice

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hello all! I'm new (duhh).

I am a uni student (well, half of a couple really) and I like coffee, as does my addict bf.

We currently have a $49 Nescafe Dolce Gusto which I HATE. It's broken cos I dropped it when moving houses and I hate the fact that these seem to be the most expensive pods and it does not work with anything else, at all.

So now that I went through a Costco supply of coffee pods, I am getting a new machine.
    I have $100 and nothing else will convince me to pay a cent more cos this is already a loooooot of money for a struggling uni student.

I am open to either espresso of capsule machines, or anything really. I need my coffee not burnt, the ability to make weak ones for me and nuclear-strength ones for the bf, and we are milk coffee drinkers (caps, mostly....And yes, I drink soy, lactose intolerance is a b**ch).

Oh and it has to make a lot of coffee, we have these keep cups that are the size of a smoothie cup...a lot of coffee cos yknow, uni.

My current options are:
    An ALDI Expressi pod machine - because I hear it runs Woolies Select pods too.

A Sunbeam Piccolo espresso machine - because its a "real" machine by comparison to pods.

Or this bargain thing off Catch of the Day called a Sheffield Espresso 4 cup (also only $50).

I am SOOPER new at coffee and really on a budget so aside from a cheapy machine I'm looking for a set-up that will not be costly to maintain ie no more $13 pod boxes for me.

Through my mother, I am a fan of ground coffee from Campos or some other cafes in Alexandria (Sydney). Bf is a fan of strong things so he got a grinder and stovetop system for Xmas (since we already had a pod machine). He liked the pods though, but we can obviously do better. So if beans work out cheaper than ground, hey I'm open to suggestions.