Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By shortblackman
  • 1 Post By kaanage
  • 1 Post By mulquemi
  • 1 Post By LeroyC

Thread: Gaggia Classic 10 years old should I buy

Gaggia Classic 10 years old should I buy

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Cheap working gaggia Classic for sale . Should I buy? Want to start making espresso at home. Thought might be cheap way to get started.( $100) apparently it works. Might need a service. Was used daily to make 1 coffee for 5 years. Is 10 years old. Any advise be most welcome!! Total noob 😇

Try before you buy, if possible ... And yes. I'd do it . I own and love mine.

About 6 years old. It's had to be repaired once for a valve going . Can't remember which , but it was coz the boiler gummed up with scale. I mention this because its a typical problem I believe .

but not a problem with filter water & regular descaling.

You can replace the plastic steam wand with a breville(?) I believe (many here have done it) to improve steaming capabilities. Shortblackmen require no such mod!
    GreenBeanGenii likes this.

Go for it. I've got one that I've had for probably 10 years and it still works great. I've serviced it myself with new seals and shower screens and I took the boiler apart to clean. I've also replaced the rubbish steam arm with a Sylvia wand. Get a grinder and some good beans and you'll be laughing.

It's as much of a risk as any machine that old. The beauty of the Classic is its simplicity so if anythings not working you can just replace that part. Obviously that can get expensive if lots of parts are stuffed. But at least you have that possibility which you wouldn't with a Sunbeam or Breville of the same age.