Thread: Breville Duo Temp 810 or second hand Breville 860

Breville Duo Temp 810 or second hand Breville 860

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi,

I am a complete coffee novice and have been researching machines for the past few weeks, and needless to say I am thoroughly confused. I don't want to spend more than $350 on a machine and grinder, which i know is not a lot, but I am happy to spend that money and have a starter machine to see if I use it enough, then upgrade later if I need I am after something that is super easy to use, so machines like the rancilio silvia are not preferable..

I am happy to buy second hand, and have found a Breville860 for $350 on gumtree. I like this because it has the built-in grinder (which I don't own so would have to buy extra), but it is second hand and out of warrenty so it could be a big risk... I would like some advice as to whether that would be better though, than a new Breville duo temp with Breville grinder (BCG400) for $350.

Thanks in advance for your help!

laugra,
    Hello and welcome along,firstly.......please don't consider yourself a "coffee novice",if you can enjoy a good coffee and compared the enjoyment it brings you when compared to a crap coffee,than you are no novice!
    Secondly:
    My first espresso coffee machine was a cheapo from Aldi,had to buy a sunbeam grinder to provide a reasonable grind range,I was catapulted into my coffee journey.....wow that's been such a rush(to this day)!!
    Still have the little aldi along with some seriously fancy machines...into the extreme range however,never paid more then $500 for a machine.
    I prefer second hand as I like to grow in knowledge and experience with the ups and down's that second hand sometimes give.
    Perhaps a good starting point might be something like a electro mechanical style machine,without all the processor controls (Rancilio Silvia,gaggia classic etc).