Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By herzog
  • 1 Post By level3ninja
  • 1 Post By Enigk

Thread: New machine...Coffee is bitter ..is it the tamp or grind or amount ???

New machine...Coffee is bitter ..is it the tamp or grind or amount ???

Not sure which forum to post this. I've been using Breville Romas for over 15 years .....pretty happy with it ..sometimes my FW is weaker than others but always ok. ..machine died...upgraded to Breville Duo TEmp.

grinder is sunbeam em0480 which I've had for 4-5 years .

I'm getting weak crema and bitter coffee almost every time . ... Was lucky to get a free 1.25 kg of beans....so I've been happy to throw beans away as I experiment...but after 3 weeks I'm really not getting it sussed.

The problem is I never know when I get a bitter coffee if the problem is the grind...or tamping too hard ....or the amount of coffee used. what should I look for ? if coffee pours too quickly for example is that too loose a grind or not enough tamp ? ....if there is too long a gap ( 10-12 secs) before coffee starts pouring after pressing button is that tamp or grind. Any tips advice etc would be great
    Last edited by grapsta; 23rd August 2018 at 11:01 AM.

Senior Member WhatEverBeansNecessary's Avatar
    Hi grapsta,

The honest answer to whether it is grind, tamp or dose is that it is all 3 as they are all linked to how the shot will pour.
    In general the biggest difference will come from grind size and dose - tamp is usually more of a 'fine tuning' tool.