Thread: Upgrading from Sunbeam EM2800

Upgrading from Sunbeam EM2800

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all,

I have been using the EM2800 machine and EM0480 grinder for a couple of years now and have been quite content with what I can produce with it. I know it's the bottom of the market! But I wanted to see how much I used it and it has been really fun playing around with my grind/tamp/etc (not to mention pulling apart the grinder to add washers).

Long story short, recently water has been leaking over the group handle when pulling a shot. I replaced the seal yesterday but that doesn't seem to have helped the issue so I'm thinking now might be the time to upgrade...

I still don't want to spend crazy money as this is a weekend use only device (and even then not every weekend), but I suppose I want to get a sense from people as to what actually would be an upgrade, what is worth extra money and what is pointless to go above without also replacing my grinder.

I have been looking at the:
    Breville BES810 (The Duo Temp Pro) - $300
    and the
    Breville BES840 (The Infuser) - $330

As I understand, the only difference between those 2 is programmable buttons (don't care) and a visible temperature gauge (assuming the 810 maintains the temperature in the same way, the visible gauge doesn't bother me).

I suppose my questions are:
    1. Is the 840 worth the extra money over the 810?
    2. Is there something else in the same price bracket I should be considering instead?
    3. How much more than $330 would I have to spend to jump up a level in quality?
    4. Are either/both of these machines of a level where I need to replace my grinder? (I HIGHLY doubt it).