Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By Simplyhuman
  • 1 Post By Jackster

Thread: My entry into Espresso and the 6910

My entry into Espresso and the 6910

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Up until recently I had a Sunbeam 2600 complete with it's pressurised baskets and I was naively happy with the espresso that I was getting out of it as a noob I was using pre-ground and over-dosing with the plastic scoop/tamp... Anyway I knew that I had to up my Coffee game so through the likes of this forum I went about researching the best & cheapest step up from where I was. Thanks to the comprehensive posts that were put up outlining the quality of espresso that can potentially be achieved with the 6910 I went about locating one... Thanks to FB marketplace I found one near by, paired with the 0480. Score! Then my learning began, tuning in all the variables that go into a "Real" unpresurised, freshly ground, quality beans, of the correct dose, tamped just right...(I'm sure I've missed something...) and then came the journey of home roasting on my behmor 1600+ wow... What a journey
    Javaphile and topshot like this.

The first mod that I undertook was the Naked PF, with thanksto another FB marketplace find I picked up a beat up machine that had a brass PF so with the help of a hole saw, made me a naked. Then came the custom turned wood handle. I now feel that I can somewhat call myself a "Coffee Snob!"
    After that I learned that the shower screen on my 6910 (the one with less holes in it was limiting the surface area on the puck being showered with water. This time through eBay I found a busted machine from which I could upgrade the shower screen I am in the process now of changing this out so I'm not sure yet weather or not it will have worth the effort...15653473936587540995790310149976.jpg15653476678354345852498874107730.jpg

I only recently found out there was 2 different shower screens. Interested to see how the new one compares (after a clean..)