Thread: Advise on new machine

Advise on new machine

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi All.

Due to unfortunate circumstances the coffee making machine of my dreams will remain so for a while yet! However the bank seems to have slipped up and i have enough awards points to buy one of the following 4 machines.

Breville Café Roma Espresso Machine
    Krups K2 Plus Espresso Machine
    Sunbeam Café Espresso
    Sunbeam Espresso Cafe Crema Coffee Machine

I wouldnt know one from the other. Can anyone make a recommendations?

Thanks! :)

Re: Advise on new machine

GDay & welcome to Coffeesnobs!

Although Im still learning, one thing I have picked up from this mob is that a decent grinder is essential for reasonable espresso. *This is a lesson I unfortunately learnt a little too late!

Someone more knowledgable than I will point you in the right direction, but if your award points allow, try to get a machine that has a boiler rather than a thermoblock. *Ive had no trouble with the Breville Ikon which has a single boiler!

Good luck with your purchase! 8-)

Andrew

Thanks Andrew,

The more i research the more doubts that i have about going ahead. I think its obvious reading through this forum that that the cheap coffee/spice grinder, while being very good for the spices/nuts i use it for now, will just not be up to scratch for espresso.

It might be better to just wait until i have the money to do it all properly.

Mick

Mick,

Use your rewards points next time a present is required for wife, mother or significant other.....

Then add the amount you would have spent to your savings for a reasonable machine and a good grinder.... the grinder being the more important.....

Honestly I wouldnt rate any of the machines listed above very highly..... It would be better than drinking instant - but you do need a real grinder in any case (You are correct - blades dont cut it in espresso grinding ;)).

Gday Mick,