Thread: Questions getting started - Sunbeam Cafe Latte

Questions getting started - Sunbeam Cafe Latte

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all,

Im new to the whole coffee making game and have recently purchased a Sunbeam Cafe Latte (EM5600) and a Breville BCG450 to get me started. However I seem to be having trouble getting decent shots.

My biggest problem is that the espresso is blonding after about 3 seconds and tastes terrible as you can imagine - how can I control this?

Finally, I have read a lot of posts that talk about tamp pressure around 10-15kg. How do I calibrate my arm to give 10-15kg of pressure? ::)

Cheers,

Steve

Re: Questions getting started - Sunbeam Cafe Latte

Welcome to Coffee Snobs Steve.

To answer your last question, get a set of bathroom scales and tamp on that.

Quote Originally Posted by Thundergod link=1200704555/0#1 date=1200711084
    Welcome to Coffee Snobs Steve.

To answer your last question, get a set of bathroom scales and tamp on that.
    Just to clarify, I dont think TG means that you should stand, dance, or jump on the scales, but rather, place the group handle on the scales then tamp to the desired weight. ;)

Succinct is not always best! ;D

Welcome from me too stevos. :)

Dennis,

If you stand on the scales whilst tamping, they should read 15kg less if you are exerting the right amount of pressure into the portafilter whilst it is resting say, on the bench. ;)

The added advantage of doing it this way is that you dont have to clean the scales first. ;D

Quote Originally Posted by Thundergod link=1200704555/0#3 date=1200719525
    Dennis,

If you stand on the scales whilst tamping, they should read 15kg less if you are exerting the right amount of pressure into the portafilter whilst it is resting say, on the bench. ;)

The added advantage of doing it this way is that you dont have to clean the scales first. ;D