Thread: need info for cheap machine

need info for cheap machine

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    gday all

just got myself my first espresso machine.

im not rich being a pensioner, all i could afford was the, Sunbeam Cafe Espresso EM3600R

now seeing its my first time ive made about 4 coffees with it & worked out the frothing with ease , now the only problem im having is getting this dark color coffee coming out of machine it allways seems a light tan color i do have a cheap $20 grinder i use for smoking herbs but after reading around i discovered its useless as it dont grind fine enough so decided to by the coffee allready grinded atm im using a strong blend with a very fine grind it seems to have improved a bit but im begining to think its the cheap plastic tamper that comes with unit the tamper seems to be 48mm & the cup is 51mm just wanting to know if that could be my problem & could someone tell me somewhere in melb or close to western suburbs i could get a better tamper ive seem a lot of online shops but would rather go to a shop so i can test it with the cups to see for myself.... thanks for any help.

Re: need info for cheap machine

Your machine would have a pressurised portafilter for supermarket coffee so that it produces a crema from stale grinds.
    Try some fresh beans and grind just before use and this should give you a better shot.
    Im sure some other Sunbeam owners will give you some pointers as well.
    Good luck with your shot making...............Welcome to CS

i have fresh beans that i have been grinding just before use & the the grinded coffee im buying is freshly grinded at the store.

Welcome to CS Kringle,

OK there are a few problems here: