Thread: A learning curve with the Presso

A learning curve with the Presso

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Ive been playing with my presso for 3 months now, and Im learning all the way. Ive noticed that my system of putting boiling water in the top, with the arms down, and leaving it like that for 3-4 minutes does not pre heat it well enough. After doing the above, the first shot, has very little crema, and does not taste good at all.

But, after the first shot, I leave the pf locked in, and let the excess water drip out. The heats the unit to the point, that the second shot is as good as it can get considering.

Ive also noticed, that (I think) you can apply too much pressure. On my EM6910, a grind of 3 on my MDF makes a pretty good shot, in the 20-25 second range. But, even on a 2, the pour is too fast on the presso.

This led me to try a lighter force. Now bear in mind, I was REALLY pushing hard before, but with this lighter pressure (Ill edit with KG exerted when I get the time) I find I get more crema, and the shot tastes noticeable better.

Im interested to know what other presso users have found, and how you guys prep and pull your shots.

Hope you found it food for thought at the least.

Des

Re: A learning curve with the Presso

Youre right about the lack of heating by just leaving water in there. I have a feeling its also a function of the thermal mass of the unit, most of the heat from the first lot of heating water is just sucked up with little effect on increasing temperature.

Ill agree about the too much pressure but not for those reasons. I blew another set of arms last week...I love my pressure and theyve updated the design of the arms to increase the strength of that weak section.

So do you think that the higher pressure the better, but its unsafe?

Ive learnt a lot about my Presso this year as it has been the mainstay. Pre-heat is essential, even pre-warming it in hot sink water helps to start.