Thread: Tamp for the ESP4/51 basket

Tamp for the ESP4/51 basket

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all. I have an Ikon BES400 and am using the Bar Italia ESP4/51 (1-2 cup) basket. Im new to all of this and so far Im enjoying the shots that I have been producing. My biggest issue is with the crappy plastic tamp that Breville supplied, it doesnt even fit the originally supplied pressurised baskets snugly!! I always end up with a raised Ďrimí of grinds around the inner edge of the basket, which I assume canít be conducive to good coffee extraction...

Does anyone know a good tamp that fits the Bar Italia basket correctly?

I know Greg Pulman can make me a custom one, but I donít know the size of the basket and donít have the equipment to accurately measure it. Cost is also a factor... Iím not sure if I can justify to my better half that I spent almost as much on a tamp as I did on the espresso machine. ;) But then again How much does a generic tamp cost??

Cheers.

Re: Tamp for the ESP4/51 basket

Hi Davmat, probably the best move would be to take the basket to a sponsors outlet and see if they can match a tamper to your basket, that way you would assure a good fit.

Hi Davmatt,

Weve got a bit of historical data on Breville filter baskets already that we could probably use to make a tamper if you decided to go down that path, but given your priority is getting the fit just right, as it is for most of our customers!) the preference would be to send your baskets in if you decide to take a tamper from us. If you decide to go down the generic path youre obviously going to be limited to off the shelf sizes, and while its possible yours could happen to be just on a whole number, theres probably a greater chance theyre not so any benefit would only be partial over what youve already got.