Thread: breville grind setting didnt make a difference

breville grind setting didnt make a difference

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    I have the breville ikon grinder and espresso machine combo.

for the value.. i like it a lot.. the milk frothing is great... but my espresso is still quite inconsistent..

i have the unpressurized filter btw

so i just bought this new beans from a boutique roaster in san francisco. he recommended pulling a 25-30 sec double shot.. my usual routine usually produce a 23-25 second shot

so in the spirit to make it go slower.. i try going finer.. and tamp harder...

eventually i went from "espresso setting" all the way to turkish .. till I am at the absolute finest at the breville grinder setting.. and i try to tamp harder and harder..

but i am still getting the same 23-25 seconds shot..

what am i doing wrong???

Re: breville grind setting didnt make a differenc

It may be the beans. I am no expert but have found that as the beans age you have to change the grind. If they are stale it may not make a great deal of difference. As you got them from a boutique roaster they should be fresh, but then again it would depend on how much they roasted then how long they were held before sale, Also the manner in which they were stored.

If you are getting grinds left in the cup then you are probably going to fine. If the crema is pale then you either have to tamp harder or go finer with the grind or your beans are stale.

But having said that how does the coffee taste even with the faster shot? If it tastes good to you, I wouldnt worry to much about the time it has taken. ;)

You can only tamp so much.

Do you notice that the turkish setting is finer than the espresso?

If you grind finer the pour should slow down.
    Thats a given.

My bet is that the grinder is not good enough.