Thread: Hello! Newbie here with some questions!!!

Hello! Newbie here with some questions!!!

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi! Im new here :D and pretty much new to the whole in-home coffee experience. I have drank coffee since a teenager (well Im in university now so maybe I still am!) I do like my cup of coffee and never beening that picky like I would drink franchises etc. But then I undertook a barista course for interest and never knew how much things there were in making coffee. So I am inspired to buy a coffee machine and make it myself! Since i dont have that much money I want to spend <$300 on a coffee machine and hopefully it would last a few years with moderate use? I was wondering which ones were good as I looked at the forum topics, but people were talking about all these different factors like aluminum, steel etc and I got confused! Also I saw a cusinart coffee auto burr mill and was wondering how good that would be for grinding.

Thanks for your opinion :D

Re: Hello! Newbie here with some questions!!!

Use your cash on a good grinder
    and get
    1) a plunger for French press coffee
    2) an Aeropress hand machine for espresso

http://www.coffeepress.com.au/aeropress_video.html

KK

second that... better a low end machine and a decent grinder than a better machine and preground coffee.

Hi all,

Firstly Im glad to have found such a great forum as Ive become quite the snob lately!! :D After a quick browse I havent seem to have found much of a consensus on a recommended low-end/entry-level machine in this category. Sure, if you read the mid and high range forums theyll tell you its necessary to pay $1200 for a decent machine but that is beyond my means and Im quite convinced its possible to pull a good shot from a cheaper machine. Of course I will use freshly ground Campos Superior so that helps!