Thread: faema due-s opv valve leaking

faema due-s opv valve leaking

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    hey everyone this is my first post on here and im sorry for that ive been creeping around for some time now.* I bought a two group* faema due smart s, a* 2002 model i believe for 60 bucks at auction a few months ago, ive been working on it as a stress relief project in between classes at school.

i tore the entire machine apart and cleaned it up changed the group head gaskets , de scaled the boiler and re assembled with a few cosmetic modifications.

other than a few loose fitting leaks the machine made good with a absolute noob tear down.

i am however having a few problems.*

my opv valve, (small thing near manual fill paddle with little drain on the bottom and large set screw on the side)* leaks,* with the machine off and just household water pressure it might have a drip every minute or so, however with the machine on and coming up to temperature the drip increases quite rapidly.*

so what i was wondering is :* is there a seal in it that i can replace,* can i tighten the set screw, or do i have a pressure problem that is making it drip in the first place.* as this is my first machine i dont want to change or adjust something that will compromise the safety of the system.

PS: see my homepage link if you would like to see all the re build pics, i can make a new thread sometime if there is enough interest.

Re: faema due-s opv valve leaking

Is this the valve you are referring to?

On my machine (Faema E98 Compact A1) it is the OPV and was leaking when the pump was running, this ended up being due to the pump pressure adjuster on the pump being jammed (rotary pump), have a look at this thread: http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1307593822

If itís the same setup as mine, this OPV needs to be adjusted to just drip at a pump pressure of 12bar, then you readjust the pump pressure to give you a brew pressure of 9bar.