Thread: Basic info on Rancilio 2 group please

Basic info on Rancilio 2 group please

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi. I just bought a working Rancilio 2 group compact machine. I do not know the model number but it is push button, has an external pump, large boiler (approx. 30cm dia x 50cm length) two groups, two frothers, one hot water.

I have a few questions -

It came with a water filter and some other smaller filter (possibly water softener?). What is the order in relation to the pump that these should be connected. It looks like all water supplied to the machine is via the pump. Is this correct? There was also a foot operated valve that was supplied with the machine, but I dont know if it was part of the setup or just got included accidently. Has anyone ever seen a coffee machine with a foot valve?

Is the push button timer programmable? If so how is it done?

Obviously Im new to this. Thanks for any info.

Re: Basic info on Rancilio 2 group please

Welcome to Coffee Snobs.
    The foot operated valve may operate the steam wand.

DONT USE

hi set-au
    if you post a pic would make it easier.
    on the front face there is an ID plate this info or a pic is needed
    then we can help
    graham

Thanks for the reply. Here are some pics. The serial number placard is very hard to read and this is the best pic I could get. There seems to be no model number. I exaggerated the size of the boiler because I was going by memory - it is more like ~20cm dia.
    http://setaus.bigblog.com.au/gallery.do?id=194072

Ohhh the hurdles I had to go through and the time wasted to get four measly photos hosted on Bigpond... I hope it works.

Photobucket, flickr or picasa are less hassle.

Take a gander here on how to post pictures on CS. :)

http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1187136315

Java "We like pictures!" phile

Welcome to the forum, Set_au,

The usual conection set up is: mains to softner, softner to pump, pump to machine.