Thread: La cimbali M27 water dripping

La cimbali M27 water dripping

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi, My name is Layth, I am in Saudi Arabia, and I just installed this machine out of storage into our coffee shop. It is fairly new (2 year old) but through storage it has been visited by something (a rodent most probably) that ate the silicon hoses and some of the insulation on the wires. I brought in La cimbali service to shop to check on machine, and they said all wires are good, and all that needed replacing were the two silicon tubes .. which i did. But then i noticed that machine was leaking.

When i opened it up, I noticed that there was a drip and it was coming from here :

I am not sure what this is. I tried finding diagrams for the machine but never saw this part. I am still new in servicing the coffee machine myself, but i have no choice but to learn, since this is the second service people i call for this machine, and they are all sub standard and a rip off in the price of parts they sell.
    I am wondering if there was a silicon tube that was supposed to be attached there that goes to drain, or am i supposed to adjust the valve (but what would it do if I do that).

The dripping only occures as machine is reaching proper temperature (so first 45 min after start), and it leaks around 2oz (60 ml). then stops dripping and all is good.

here is a pic for the general location of this valve:

I would appreciate any help

and thanks in advance

Layth

I'm not familiar with the inside of your machine, but it looks to me like the OPV (over pressure valve) - the large screw head is used for adjusting extraction pressure.

If the drips are coming from around that screw then I would guess that there is a sealing o-ring underneath it that has decayed and is allowing a small amount of water past.