Like Tree12Likes
  • 8 Post By chokkidog
  • 1 Post By TC
  • 2 Post By MrJack
  • 1 Post By chokkidog

Thread: Commercial vs High End Home Brewing Machines? New to coffee =)

Commercial vs High End Home Brewing Machines? New to coffee =)

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    I am new to the real coffee world and just recently taken a professional Barista course just to see what the professional do.

I am rather confused what is the difference between a high end home machine (ie. Breville dual boiler) vs a $10k+ machine?

I understand boilers are bigger, more group handles in the commercial units, what else are different?

This is assuming a "small" coffee operation with 150 cups per day sales max.

Welcome to CS gonsped,
    Ummm..........and with all due respect to owners of the Breville DB and their enjoyment of their machine
    but I don't think it quite fits the category of 'high end home machine'

Check the categories of the sub-forums for domestic machines from 'entry level, sub $500' to 'extreme machines >$3000' on the home page.

Your question is a bit fruit salad, I'm not sure what angle to take, at this time of night.

For instance........ commercial machines such as the La Marzocco, Mirage; Kees van der Westen, Spirit; Slayer and Synesso are high end machines.
    All are over 20K for a two group, (I'm pretty sure).

These same companies all make the highest end of single group, double boiler domestic machines; LM Linea, KvdW Speedster and single group Slayers and Synessos.
    From 5k-circa 10k.
    Not a lot of difference except group number and size but that is apple and apples.

The difference between apples and oranges is build quality, component quality, temp stability, temp recovery time; lever, e-61 or saturated group; manual,
    volumetric or automatic operation; longevity, resale value and a few other things as well.

And thats just for starters...........