• 3 Post By TOK
  • 2 Post By TC
  • 1 Post By TC
  • 1 Post By TC

Thread: Need help and advice to use a San Marino Lisa 3 Group

Need help and advice to use a San Marino Lisa 3 Group

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi folks,

I am a novice coffee cart owner. Just purchased and set up a second-hand San Marino Lisa 3 Group machine and had it serviced and set up by an "Expert" who charged me $500 to do it.

The coffee coming out is not great however. The water comes out too quickly. My understanding is that a single shot espresso (30mil) must take about 30 seconds to fuse through the coffee. In my case, it's more like 12 seconds. So, it's not properly brewed.

The user manual suggested reducing the boiler pressure which I did but no visible effect. When I use finer ground, the time increases but the amount then reduces to about 18-20mil and the coffee ground remains too wet (watery in fact with some excess water above the coffee ground).

Any expert advice out there please. I will much appreciate it.

Thanks
    Mombino.

hi Mombino and welcome to CS,

With a post like that you're bound to get some interesting replies! ;-)

With respect, it sounds like you're a complete novice, ...... yes?

You will need to provide more info about the coffee you're using, the dose and dosing method, the tamp pressure and which size pf basket
    you're using for a single shot.

Did the user manual say anything else about a pour that is too fast? Have you been able to adjust your grind so the shot chokes?
    What is the boiler pressure, before and after, the adjustment?

If you get it right you stand to make some good money, if you can get some good locations and events. If you don't get it right, your competition will prosper!

My advice is to source a consultant, respected in the industry and get them to teach you before you unleash yourself upon the general public.

p.s. I'm no 'expert'. :=)

TOK
    Welcome to CS.