La Marzocco GB5 2 &3 group heads

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all

I am very new to the platform and site.

I own a Coffee Shop in South Africa and I use the following coffee machines

La Marzocco GB5;

2 group
    3 group

my question is after a year and and bit of trading.

what is the Pros and Cons of turning off the two machines after every business day.

my Primary concern is will it damage it in the long run and is it safe to do so?

Warm regards
    Shmuel
    JoziBlue
    Last edited by Javaphile; 9th April 2014 at 12:17 PM.

KB
    Others may give more in depth advice but until you get this, my last 4 x 3 group machine were never turned off overnight. I worked on the theory that reducing the amount of switching meant less wear and tear. Also the amount of electricity required to heat from scratch is considerable whereas hot water kept at pressure meant less strain on the element and did not require 15 - 20 mins to get to temp. each morning. I haven't used power saving models so they may differ. Has worked well for me.

TOK
    If the equipment is left on 24/7 it is switching / cycling on and off even while you are not trading and are not there. That adds to unnecessary wear and tear and results in components reaching the end of their designed life cycles earlier than if they were being switched off overnight....so more cost in R & M over whatever period.