Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree12Likes

Thread: New Member

Question New Member

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Firstly, great site- combined knowledge from forum members that I have been reading this morning is incredible! Glad to be a member .
    Ok- the experience and knowledge is out there so I am sure a little guidance would be forthcoming.
    I am a teacher by trade, 21 yrs, and am fortunate to have accumulated 6 months LSL + 1yr sabbatical (18months on full pay). I am cash positive- no debts, no credit cards etc etc.
    For years and years my wife (French with cooking background) and I (Italian with an appreciation for great espresso) have toyed with the idea of running our own cafe.
    So it's now or never!

To dip my toes I am looking at a walk-in van setup- similar to a food truck where we can make Italian panini and coffee. I have spent 6 months researching the idea and sourcing food truck builders and have finally narrowed it down to 1 builder.

What I know is that my Panini press requires 15amps and a quality coffee machine requires 15amp plus fridges, freezers etc So I am looking at an 8kva (35amp) Onan generator. My wife says that we should play it safe and look for a bigger generator. I'm starting to think the same...

My concern with my choice of coffee machine is that any of the fit-out places keep pushing the Diamond 2 head coffee machine. Why?
    My research into this business tells me that the machine will have to handle 100-250 coffees/day. Will the Diamond really be able to cope with that? I expect that every espresso that I pull from that unit will have a golden crema that will scintillate the senses, tantalise the palate.

Budget? I am prepared to buy a machine from $4.5-7k if it is going to handle the workload and give me a quality experience.