Thread: Buying Advice

Buying Advice

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi All,

First time poster, great forum have learnt a lot in a short time! Hoping to pick the brain of some of you experienced snobs

First let me start off by saying I'm a novice, have been practicing on an old rancillo. Have booked myself into a few beginner courses in anticipation of upgrading my gear. Just wanted to get peoples recommendations based on below requirements, I'm leaning heavily towards a Duetto III at the moment:

- Something thats going to get me close to a good cafe coffee (after some practice) so that I can stop driving 20 minutes and spending $10 each day on my fix I currently have a semi-auto machine that was supposed to be the morning coffee making but it rarely gets used, just does not cut it.

- Something that could handle churning out 4/5 coffees without me being away from guests for 20+ minutes

- Budget of 4-5k inc grinder/accessories - I'm a bit lost on the grinders to be honest have seen they can range in price by quite a bit!

- Finally, I plan on keeping the machine in my alfresco kitchen thats under the patio. I will cover it when not in use, hoping this isn't a issue? Would hate to buy a new shiney machine only to ruin it after a few weeks because it's kept outdoors?

Apologies for the long

Hi Evro50,
    I to am a new comer to this site, with a similar story. I have a Silvia that I build and installed a PID for as well as insulated the boiler. This made it a lot easier to use instead of temperature surfing all the time and using a heap of water. But as you said, it is a 10 minute exercise to make a Latia.