Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Javaphile
  • 1 Post By Dimal

Thread: Faema e98 Compact S1 - Milk with strange taste

Question Faema e98 Compact S1 - Milk with strange taste

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi All

I am new to coffee snobs and to owning a machine at home.

I have just bought a second hand Faema e98 Compact S1. I bought it from a coffee machine technician who had torn it apart and cleaned it all up. Machine works well however, I seem to be getting a strange taste in my milk after texturing. I have run some milk steamer solution and machine cleaner through the machine, but still no change in the taste.

I can smell the taste that I am getting in my milk in the steam.... if that makes sense. Any ideas on what this could be and how to fix it? Very frustrating as I have been unable to produce a nice coffee from my new machine!

Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks
    Tbrew

How does the water from the water dispenser smell and taste ?

The water tasted fine from the dispenser and the shot itself tastes fine as well. Can it be possible that the taste is coming from the steam wand?

Hi TBREW, It looks like the steam wand, steam tap, boiler to tap copper pipe and the inside of the boiler above the water is all that is left.
    I have a Cimbali S1 2002 model that a friend kindly gave me, which I think is similar to your machine.
    I believe Javaphile is the resident expert re. Cimbalis.
    Wish you well, Ron.