Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By noidle22

Thread: Cimbali M21 Plus Autofill Broken

Cimbali M21 Plus Autofill Broken

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi Guys,

I have a 2grp La Cimbali M21 Plus that this morning decided to develop an autofill issue.

Basically, the autofill is just staying on and not turning off. Normally it turns on for a few seconds (as its supposed to do), and then turns off again.

I left it on for a bit to see if it would stop, but it doesnt seem to be, and I've lost sight of the little float in the sight glass (but boiler has not yet filled up so much that water is coming out the steam wands.

I *think* i have located the autofill probe, the top black wire:

But I tried disconnecting the wire, and it still didnt turn off (well, I tried disconnecting it and turning it on, but the autofill still activates...i didnt actually try disconnecting it whilst powered on).

So I'm a bit stumped as to what else I can try to fix it.

Does anyone have any ideas on what else I can try?

Thanks in advance guys,

If you earth the autofill wire, in this case it would be easiest to just touch it to the boiler, the autofill should stop. Earthing it replicates the probe touching the water in the boiler.

Possibly the autofill probe has a build up of scale which is stopping it from touching the water and telling the autofill to switch off.
    Remove the probe and clean it with a wire brush or sandpaper to remove any scale. This should hopefully sort it out.

If this doesn't work or earthing the wire doesn't stop the autofill then there is something else wrong.
    Check the wire for any damage or breaks.

If there's still no luck then the autofill on the circuit board is probably faulty. This is quite rare though.
    Dimal likes this.

Okay so I've disconnected that wire and touched it to the boiler, it doesn't stop the autofil.

I then removed the probe and cleaned off the scale and put it back in.

Still no dice.