Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By TRRR
  • 1 Post By GCM58

Thread: La Cimbali Junior S Sirai Pressurestat needs descaling

La Cimbali Junior S Pressurestat needs descaling

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi

I have a La Cimbali Junior S (internal water tank) which I bought new about 8 years ago. I'm careful to use filtered water when filling the machine.

Normally the deadband on my machine is approximately between 0.9 - 1.1 bar.

On the week-end the boiler temperature kept rising and didn't stop until it got near 1.5 bar and when I steamed milk it dropped to around 0.6 bar. Next time I turned the machine on it didn't stop at 1.5 bar and nearly entered the red zone on my guage so I manually turned the power off and released steam pressure to drop the high pressure in the boiler. I have tried lubricating the spring on the side of the pressurestat and freeing it up but it hasn't made any difference.

From my research it would appear that I need to descale the pressurestat diaphragm as it's stuck in the open position. The pressurestat has a brass body and has a large spring on the side. A picture of the pressurestat is attached.

Can people please advise whether descaling the pressurestat is something that I can do myself?

If it is, could someone please provide step by step instructions on how to take it out and descale it?

Thanks

Graham
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by GCM58; 24th January 2017 at 10:34 AM.

Hi Graham, I did one a few years ago, it wasn't too hard. Just unbolt it and pull it apart and clean the the scale off the parts then put it back together.

Sorry, that's all the details I remember now. Have a go.

Thanks TRRR.
    I took the initiative and unbolted it and there is scale inside the pressurestat and pipe so will take it apart and descale it.