Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: Boema Single Group Adventure

Boema Single Group Adventure

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all, just picked up a second hand boema espresso machine and grinder. A little bit of a project/adventure.
    Being fairly green as far as coffee machines go, I was hoping to maybe find some potential guidance.

About the machine; Boema Single Group, 2400w 10A, $250nzd auction buy. Ex cafe/shop. Been sitting for approx 12months, working when removed from service, with slight water leak.

About Me; current set up, sunbeam em0480 grinder and breville cafe roma. Pan roasting beans, and weighing/timing my brews.

Technical abilities; by trade an industrial electrician dual traded in instrumentation.

Before I have a go at running up the machine for the first time, my plan is to replace the relief valve and insulation test the element, and maybe flush the boiler and refill it until the element is not exposed (still has water sitting in the boiler, so not sure if this is a problem given the machine has been sitting for 12 months.

One thing I was wondering is if anyone knows where I could get a service manual for the machine if there is such a thing.

IMG_20180412_124807.jpgIMG_20180412_125009.jpg

This is the machine and internals.

Id fill boiler with descaler (through the relief valve while you have it out...after boiler is cleaned, id run new descaler through the systems to clean the pipes and solenoids.
    Then flush and start looking to fire it up and find the leaks.
    You could make a fitting to utilize a bike pump to pressurise the boiler to aid in leak detecting so its not to hot to work on.

Quote Originally Posted by hunty View Post
    Hi all, just picked up a second hand boema espresso machine and grinder. A little bit of a project/adventure.
    Being fairly green as far as coffee machines go, I was hoping to maybe find some potential guidance.