Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By artman

Thread: Bought a used Faema E98 compact A1 and looking for advice.

Bought a used Faema E98 compact A1 and looking for advice.

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all,

I'm still very new to coffee snobs, have been lurking on and off for quite some time. I have just bought a second hand Faema E98 Compact A1 which the previous owner had in storage for quite some time. They indicated they had the machine serviced in January 2017 and put it in storage in April 2017. I am planning on replacing the filters and group seal and descaling (as well as a very good general clean up) . Is there anything else that anybody recommends replacing at the same time?

Also the portafilter handle /basket is missing so I am needing to order a replacement, any recommendations?

Welcome!

These are a great machine! I would drain the boiler (has a drain bung one side of the boiler) to get out any stale/old water. Fill the tank up, fire it up, run the brew cycle to flush out water from the heat exchanger and see how it goes.

I wouldnt descale unless it needs it.

What filters are you referring to? the only thing it potentially may have is the resin filter in the tank. Would be worthwhile replacing that, you can use a different brand as long as it has a barb for the suction hose and is decent size as the rotary pump generates a fair bit of flow.

The group is the same as the cimbali juniors so any of those portafilters will fit.

Coffeeparts sell the group seals and portafilters. I would see how dirty things are before replacing them. If it was serviced it should all be pretty good.

I used a plastic tray under mine to catch the water from the plumb in plastic box. If you are seeing water flowing into this box while brewing it is likely the pump bypass is jammed and its sending the pressure sky high and dumping out of the over pressure safety valve.

Cheers

Quote Originally Posted by artman View Post