Thread: How do you change the gaskets on an Epoca?

How do you change the gaskets on an Epoca?

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all, a few weeks ago I posted a post regarding my group heads on my Rancilio Epoca leaking. I just ordered the new gaskets from Coffee Parts along with new shower heads.

It may be one of the simplist things but I have never done it before and dont want to possibly damage anything. How do I replace the old gaskets??? The shower heads come off just by unscrewing the 10mm bolt in the centre of it but I cannot see or feel the old gasket.

Any Ideas on how to do it or any sites that may have a walk through on the procedure? I checked the Rancilio site but cant seem to find anything other than owners manual and a parts list.

I look forward to any answers you guys may have.

Thanks in advance.

David

Re: How do you change the gaskets on an Epoca?

:)

Greetings David, Im Dave as well, and as two newer green beans, I say we take over!!

As far as gaskets and shower heads, keep in mind CLEANLINESS...

Clean threads, Clean Surfaces, and Dont overtighten anything!!!!!(too loose will leak and be obvious)

When working with fittings, a little water will help to lubricate parts, and evaporate.

When cleaning, Id use the planets best, most universal solvent to clean.....
    ...WATER!(distilled of course)

As far as your particular machine, I have no experience. *Certain parts could require sealer/anti-sieze (Lets have some input from the veterans beanos)

Cheers! *Good luck with your operation ...er SURGERY !

Dave

Hi David,
    I take it youre referring to the group gasket that helps seal the portafilter against the group head when pulling a shot? When they get old and brittle you can get leaking from around the filter and you then need to replace it.