Thread: Boiler not cutting out???

Boiler not cutting out???

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    I have a La Cimbali M27 and it was working fine on the weekend. I have turned it on tonight when I got home from work and it is boiling up and then not stopping (as if the thermostat is not cutting it out). It will then keep boiling and reach about 1.5 or 1.6 bar before the safety valve on top of the boiler releases an explosion of steam. Can anyone give me an idea of what this might be. I am thinking Thermostat and have looked on www.coffeeparts.com and a new one is $175. I am comfortable it replacing it, but do not want to spend $175 if i should be looking at other things. Am I better off taking it somewhere to be repaired, if so, I am in Adelaide, any suggestions of recommended repairers?

Any help is much appreciated.

Cheers,

Ben

Re: Boiler not cutting out???

Could it be the pressurestat rubber getting really stiff with age...if so the rubber is cheap. Does the pressurestat click in at the right pressure at the bottom of the cycle...I just guessing here. Someone like JavaB etc might reply if they see this.

Cheers

It seems to not care about pressure and just keeps boiling. It will normally get to a certain temp and stop until it needs to heat a little more, this is not happening as soon as it is turned on it starts boiling and does not stop until you turn the power off on the front.

Snoop....

Two possible causes

1. the pressurestat has failed (a Sirai unit)..... can you hear it clicking on/off as the pressure increases to about 1.1 Bar?

2. the elements can fail..... and initially develop leakage to earth caused by corrosion which eats through the copper outer.... The pressurestat is in the neutral leg (dont ask me why :o :o)..... and so the element (which eventually shorts to the copper outer) continues to heat.... regardless of pressurestat operation.