Thread: EM6910 fast shots

EM6910 fast shots

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi guys,
    its the usual story: im new to the coffeeworld and CS.
    first of all id like to plug the coffee barun; if you live in adelaide, or are coming to adelaide- go to the barun. no exceptions theyve got top service and great products.

secondly:
    ive been reading for a week or so, trying to get as much info as possible and ive just got myself a EM6910 and EM0480 setup.

the issue ive been having is getting 30 seconds for 30ml single shots. ive been experimenting by keeping my dosage and tamping at a constant (or there abouts) and adjusting my grind settings. my most successful shot went for 25 seconds (much different to the 10 or 15 i was getting) but for the last 10mls of the shot the pressure gauge on the sb said i was overextracting.

my understanding of the situation says 25 seconds is slightly underextracting - grind is too coarse
    but the gauge indicated i was overextracting in the last 1/3 of the shot saying the grind is too fine.
    after the shot i inspected the puck and found it firm, it had a light indentation of the shower screen and good even colour at the base.

the grind setting i ended up at was 8 despite the fact the book says espresso should be 12-16 (i figure the numbering system from one grinder to another is a little hit and miss with a mass production item)

can you help a newbie?

cheers,
    Mike.

A_M

Re: EM6910 fast shots

Quote Originally Posted by mikeyt link=1231315747/0#0 date=1231315746
    Hi guys,
    its the usual story: im new to the coffeeworld and CS.

secondly:
    ive been reading for a week or so, trying to get as much info as possible and ive just got myself a EM6910 and EM0480 setup.