Thread: What is the difference? Commercial vs Domestic Coffee Machines?

What is the difference? Commercial vs Domestic Coffee Machines?

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all!

Firstly I know my "subject" sounds kinda obvious! I work as a barista, and use a commercial coffee machine most days. I was wanting to a coffee machine to use at home as well, so I can enjoy a nice coffee when not working :D I know little about domestic machines (apart from browsing this site.

Temp surfing seems to be a much bigger problem with domestic machines hense the PID on some machines? With the commercial machines if you run a couple of seconds worth of water through it between shots the temp is stable due to the huge boilers.

The steam pressure etc will obviously be compromised compared to a commercial machine to im asuming.

My question (finally I had a laugh), is, what price/machine would be straight forward operation like a commercial machine? Im not too worried about steaming/brewing the same time, more about quality of the shot, and not to fiddly to use. Temp surfing seems like it would be overly fustrating, if you cant just run water through the machine for the boiler to be at the correct temp?

Iv been reading about the Sunbeam 6910, the Silvia, and the E1 Rocket, the rocket seems like an over kill though!

PS: I would get a good grinder, not one with "steps". Probably after a machine to make 1-2 coffees at once. Any help would be great 8-)

A_M

Re: What is the difference? Commercial vs Domestic Coffee Machines?

Sorry but my comments will not answer your question as you have not really provided enough info..

In the first instance, Commercial vs Domestic;

1: *comes down to your use of the machine...

2: *Reliability / Build / Throughput...

If I could I would have a G3 at home = Domestic also = domestic argument that I can not win.