Thread: What to Buy.....Total Newbie?????

What to Buy.....Total Newbie?????

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi All,

As you can see by my join date I have only just joined this forum. After reading it for a while I figure there couldnt be a better place to start and get advice on buying a coffee machine. Ok so let me tell you the situation I have.

Currently I spend $5 every morning buying coffee which is very nice however it is in a way a complete waste of money......where talking $1300 per year ( only one coffee a day) too much and I am not doing it any more. This got me thinking. I am prepared to spend good money and buy a high quality machine which I can use at home.

Where should I start, I have looked at the expobar Minore III and the Rocket Giotto but is this total over kill? Dont be driven by price in your response because I would like to know what I should be looking for and then decide if I can afford it later.

Another important point is.......and I am being honest when I say this...I have never made anything other than instant coffee, So you could say that I am an absolute Novice. BIG learning curve coming up, but Im sure all of you here would agree that this is an art form right and will require learning.

Thank you in advance

Regards

Ryan

TC

Re: What to Buy.....Total Newbie?????

Hi Ryan and welcome...

My advice is firstly to set yourself a budget...

With $1200- around $2k you will get yourself a machine and grinder which will pull a shot and then you will have to wait while the machine builds pressure to produce steam. We call this style of machine a dual purpose single boiler machine...

$2.5k to $4k will get you a package which will operate as those in cafes do. You can do whatever you like, whenever you like. You mentioned the Giotto and Minore III- these operate this way.

There are cheaper coffee making "appliances" at your local department store. These can be short lived.