Thread: Wedding gift advice

Wedding gift advice

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi,

After some thought, I decided to choose a coffee machine and grinder as a wedding gift from my father. I did some research on this site and requested:

Rancilio Silvia Coffee Machine
    Rancilio Rocky Doserless Grinder

Instead of getting this, my father bought me the following from Harvey Norman:

De Longhi Magnifica Automatic Cappuccino

What is your advice? Is the De Longhi a good machine, or should I try to exchange it?

I am new to making coffee, so would really appreciate your advice?

Thanks.

Re: Wedding gift advice

i would try to exchange, at best you might get sunbeam 6910 and a em480 grinder.........

its doubtful it (the delonghi) will produce good coffee

you have done the research so you understand the reasons why....

good luck

Hi Version,

Welcome to Coffee Snobs!

The De Longhi probably is good machine. It should be able to make ok to good coffee. It is a plastic thing and probably wont last to long without issue.
    On the plus side, dont think, hit a button and coffee is made.

The Silvia/Rocky will be able to make good to awesome coffee. The Silvia is built like a tank and with proper care and use will last a life time. Also parts are readily available and the Silvia and Rocky will keep their value much better.
    On the down side you need to grind, dose, tamp, temp surf, stop the extraction all manually. Insert the term "learn". For a person that is passionate this is no issue and part of the joy.

Anyone one on this site would advise to get the Silvia unless you only want to "press a button".

The bad news is if you try to sell the De Longhi you probably wont make enough to get the Silvia/Rocky.

TC

Id try to exchange it...

If you are looking at anything better than very average in your cup, you will not be happy. In addidtion, superautos are prone to failure and generally require expensive repairs.