Thread: Questions on buying new machine

Questions on buying new machine

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all,
    Ive been using a sunbeam em4800 with EM0480 for about 2 to 3 years now and ive been keeping it going by doing by own doggy repairs. Now Im looking to buy a new machine to replace it.

Ive been looking at getting the silvia as lots of people seem to say its a good machine. However I was wondering if it would be overkill for my needs as I would mostly use the machine to make one or two lattes a day using vittoria coffee beans ground with the above grinder.

One other question is how long does the siliva last without needing any serious matanance (ie problems with solinoids, valves or rust). I dont mind spending the money on a machine like this as long as its going to run for the next 5 years before needing any major service.

Thanks.

TC

Re: Questions on buying new machine

Quote Originally Posted by 616E7342564F230 link=1268534006/0#0 date=1268534006
    I would mostly use the machine to make one or two lattes a day using vittoria coffee
    Hello BMP and welcome,

You will find it extremely challenging to get a good result with supermarket stale beans and Id think you will do better at your local to be honest...

This jump requires a good grinder, great beans and excellent technique. As for longevity, its a matter of how well you choose to maintain it... ;)

2mcm

Caffeine Junky

As 2mcm says you really need to seriously reconsider your choice of beans! *Using freshly roasted from a good supplier will drastically improve your brews irrespective of equipment used. *

The Silvia has a well-deserved reputation for quality and longevity. *I dont think its overkill, in fact its perfect for someone who makes 1-2 cups at a time. The 0480 will probably be ok with the Silvia. *You would get better results with a better quality grinder but again, decent beans will make the biggest difference.