Thread: Need help with upgrade

Need help with upgrade

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi Guys,

Man Im glad I found this site - it rocks! Kudos to the experts that help out here.

I was wondering if I could get some advice on my next upgrade. I have been using a Roma for the last 6 years, and while it performed well, I have now realised that I dont need to drink bad coffee at home anymore (or need to run to the bathroom 5 mins after drinking a coffee at home).

Im not a barista, but I like a good cup. Basically, the machine will be used by my wife ~2 times a day and *myself on the weekends. We have a pretty basic Moulinex grinder and purchase beans from the supermarket (I can hear the scoffs from here).

Time to take a step up I hear.

I have been reading up on brands and come to the Sunbeam EM6910 or Rancilio Silvia (although the Lelit has an in-built grinder, its pretty expensive). I found a great compare site...
    http://www.coffeetamper.com.au/kb/reviews/sunbeam-silvia/

Anyone have comments on a good set-up based on our needs?

Also, I need to replace our faulty water filter in the kitchen sink. I read that you can purchase filter that make the water better for coffee making. Any suggestions?

With most things in life, $$ is a big part in all of this as well. Im still in discussions with my financial advisor to justify spending ~$800. She thinks $300 is too much, but Id say my budget would max out at $800 for everything total.

Thanks in advance!

Urban

Re: Need help with upgrade

Its going to get said so I will be the first GET A GOOD GRINDER !!!!

Your coffee will be ordinary until you do this first step.

Minimum grinder for decent espresso is the Sunbeam 480 or better yet Rocky, Ascaso, Ibiteral etc.

Machine is third to the good beans first then the grinder in getting decent coffee.

As long as your Breville Roma still works, your budget is adequate.