Thread: Calling PIDd Silvia owners, Im unsure what shot temp to pull at..

Calling PIDd Silvia owners, Im unsure what shot temp to pull at..

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Got a basic Auber PID. Seems fairly stable and predictable idles +-1 degree once machine is warmed up. I current have some locally roasted beans, a medium roast by Chiasso in NZ (they make great roasts). So.. I am totally confused at what temp to pull at. My testing shows if PID shows idle at 104c i get definite pronounced flash boil out of the group head (chlchlchlchchhhhhhh...). If I set to 103 and wait 10mins for the machine to stabilise the flash boil is probably 85-95% gone, just a second of a flash boil I can barely see or even hear. So.. 104 definite flash boil 103 almost completely gone, knowing this what is a recommended shot temp setting for med. roast? 103,102,101,100,99,98? Im not sure what will get me in the ball park.

As a newbie I am also struggling to get flavour out of the extractions. I have a doserless Rocky grinder and have purchased a larger double basket than stock. I dose 1/4 jiggle, 1/2 dose jiggle, full dose jiggle, then keep dosing over lip.. I then straight edge over the top and medium tamp. That gives me around a 1.2oz ristretto. I then flat white that into a 150ml ACF cup. Im just not getting anywhere with flavour so that is why I am requesting help on temp settings hoping that wrong temp is my weak link. Any advice from a Silvia PID owner would be great!

Re: Calling PIDd Silvia owners, Im unsure what shot temp to pull at..

Hi Beaker, and welcome.
    Im running a Watlow with the thermocouple mounted on top of the boiler. The standard brew temp is set at 108, although with my current beans, Im getting very nice results with a temp of 109.