Thread: Silvia with PID and Compak K3 - problems dialing it in

Silvia with PID and Compak K3 - problems dialing it in

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi guys,

Im onto my second type of beans now with my new setup (Lavazza Il Perfetto Espresso) and Im having problems getting the correct extraction time.

What Im finding is that I tend to swing between an extraction time of about 38 seconds or an extraction time of about 22 seconds. If I adjust the grind by minute movements it seems to swing either way. I am very new at using a grinder, I used a Breville 800 series machine and pre-ground coffee before this. I am using a consistant tamp each time, so Id like to think that Ive eleminated this as the culprit.

Also, I have the PID set to 105 degrees at the moment for the Lavazza. Has anyone got experience with this coffee and the temperature which is prefers?

Thanks guys

Regards,
    Simon

brett230873

Re: Silvia with PID and Compak K3 - problems dialing it in

1. Get freshly roasted beans... not Lavazza from a packet
    2. Weigh your beans into the grinder just enough for one shot.
    3. Tamp consistently... Technique and weight are largely irrelevant... Consistency is key
    4. Leave the PID in one spot while you are dialing in... the only variable that should change isnthe grind setting.... Nothing else
    5. Once dialed in and consistent then play and change.
    6. Get freely roasted beans from a site sponsor: they will be consistent in their freshness and roasting technique.

8. Report back with great results and good luck.

BH

Thanks for the response Brett. With regards to the coffee, surely Lavazza cant be that bad? Isnt it the best selling coffee in the world? Surely, if its vacuum sealed when you buy it, it will be decent?

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by 7C6C6E7D606366610F0 link=1293336921/2#2 date=1293347721
    if its vacuum sealed when you buy it, it will be decent?