Thread: Re: Grimac La Uno or Silvia?

Re: Grimac La Uno or Silvia?

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    New here and this is my first post. Im new to the coffee snob world, but I find myself a snob junkie having to get my daily snob fix just like my daily espresso. Anyway, moving on....Im in the market for a machine and was gonna buy a new Silvia and a Mazzer mini grinder, now I see this machine but I have no clue as to which would be a better buy. Can any of you lovely snobs give a virgin some advice??? 8-)

for you to make up your own mind:

La Uno = small semi commercial heat exchanger machine of "older" design. Reasonably soft steam delivery, radial movement steam arm (usually not ball jointed). The steam valve is "ordinary", in semi commercial use it fails reasonably quickly (ie steam leaks) and the steam seals are/were hard to get....there is a V seal that in the past, certainly was more trouble to get than its worth.

If I were to buy a La Uno in good nik I would use as is until there is any trouble with the steam valve, then I would change out the steam valve assembly with a commmonly available better quality type and and in so doing will also end up with a ball jointed and longer pipe ( my preference) and a more aggressive steam delivery. But thats me, I get my parts for trade, and I do my own work. If you do this it will add cost to your purchase price...and in any case it may not be a problem with a machine that has only ever had light home duties!

Otherwise it should make an excellent home machine.

It is easier to use than the Silvia. Being *a heat exchanger design there are no "steps" to put it through to go from coffee to steam and back to coffee modes....HX machines deliver all at once.

A La Uno could be around 10 years old but the age wont matter if it has been loved by its owner.