Thread: Rancilio Silvia vs EM6910

Rancilio Silvia vs EM6910

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hello, all the coffee snobs out there!

I am very new to this field, and CS itself, so if I missed the previous post about the topic, I am really sorry.

I am considering on buying a machine for home, as I am getting sick of inconsistent coffee quality even from good cafes around, depending on who is making the coffee.

Also, I am a mother of two young children and very limited time to drive to get to good cafes, so I decided to study everything myself and buy a machine for home.

I have been reading for a week or so on these postings as time allows, and pretty much narrowed down to above mentioned two machines, but cant decide on which. If you can vote on one or the other, or suggest another machine, that would be wonderful.

* I have never owned an espresso machine before.
    * My knowledge is limited to what Ive learned at Domestic Espresso course run by Tobys Estate
    * We do own a grinder - Delonghi KG100 and from the previous post, I understand we need to upgrade this as well . . .

Most importantly,
    * We entertain a lot. Once or twice a month, I will be making ~10 cups in one hit. Once or twice a year, I will be making ~20 cups in one hit. So I cant afford to sit in front of coffee machine forever.

If it wasnt for the last point, I think I would go for Silvia for sure, but reading many posts in many different forums, it seems to take longer to make a cup than EM6910. If that time is significant, even if I have to compromise on the quality of coffee a little bit, I have to go for the faster one.

Re: Rancilio Silvia vs EM6910

Hi Mrs H and welcome to CS!

So much to consider - first machine, budget, guests, quality, etc.!

Lets start with the machines you are considering:

1) The Sunbeam is easy to use and makes a reasonable coffee; its durability is questionable.