Thread: 2 espresso machines for different use(r)s - which one...?

2 espresso machines for different use(r)s - which one...?

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi there,

newbie here* :) Ive been scouring the forum for the last few days, and instead of becoming more confident, i seem to be getting more confused as to what my next step in espresso machines should be. There are 2 scenarios, actually, first one is a machine for myself, and the other for friends, so lets start with that

scenario A
    friends like a good coffee, are sitting on a sunbeam $250 machine which they dont find suitable for their needs. Which are - decent espresso, and easy (?) cappucino-making. they are not "ritualist", so tamping, grinding, backflushing, etc. will most likely be lost on them...budget unknown, probably about 4 coffees (2 espresso, 2 capp) a day. I was thinking the Sunbeam 6910 might hit the sweet spot, especially after reading Greg Pullman review (I liked the part "idiot-proof"...), but I am somewhat concerned about their reliability. Is there anything else that springs to mind? The Breville 800 (Frescia?) series doesnt seem to be as interesting as the Sunbeam. Ill be their technical support, so the less maintenance the better* :P

scenario B